Let Love Win – A Bit Of A Different Post

FullSizeRender (53)

I hadn’t planned to blog tonight at all. It’s been a regular evening and I had gone for a bath with a magazine and a cheeky glass of wine as a treat before turning in for the night at 9pm as always – what can I say I am not hardcore anymore (was I ever)!

I had taken Glamour magazine up to read and in this months issue was an article about the Paris shootings. A woman called Katie Healy had told her story of how she and her boyfriend, David, had been at the Bataclan Theatre when ISIS terrorists opened fire in November last year.

Most of us read lifestyle magazines, often full of real life stories, some with more impact on you than others. But I’ve never read a story in a magazine and felt the way I felt reading that. I don’t know if it is because I’ve read it two days after the terrorist attacks in Brussels, something Katie obviously wouldn’t have been aware of when she told Glamour her story, but as I read her words as I lay carefree in the bath, I cried. To read what she had gone through, the fear she felt, the determination of David to keep her safe and alive, it hit me way harder than any of the news reports we’ve recently been exposed, and sadly, accustomed to.  I cannot even begin to imagine the horror they saw, they felt, they smelt. The horrendous images forever imprinted on their minds thanks to the absolute scum of the earth embarking on this cowardly and sickening intent on killing innocent people.

When the news about Brussels broke on Tuesday morning I was watching the news whilst feeding Josh, and when I finished feeding him and lay him down for his morning snooze I said “what world have I brought you into”. It is utterly terrifying to contemplate the things Josh may see in his life if this madness continues.  It is even more terrifying to contemplate what it is going to take for something to make this stop.

I know I am a Mummy blogger, I am usually talking to you about Josh, or breastfeeding, or shoes or the latest episode of Emmerdale. Light hearted stuff, that is fairly easy and enjoyable to read. My husband didn’t understand at all why I’d write this blog in relation to what my blog represents, but hopefully my fellow bloggers out there will just get it. This is real. And it is horrifying. And I just had an overwhelming to write after reading that magazine.

The part of Katies story that really made me so sad was when she told how after the attacks David proposed to her and, like any woman who is utterly happy, over the moon and in love, she tweeted the news in celebration. The thing that made me sad is that she felt guilty about the attention this drew, because she, like everyone else, knew many young people had lost their lives and wouldn’t get to celebrate such a wonderful event in their lives. But if by any chance Katie reads this, and I really hope she does, please know that everyone will have been so happy to have read your wonderful news. Because in a story of unimaginable horror and pain, love shone through. Love prevailed. Love won. Those sick bastards won’t.

Congratulations Katie and David. I guarantee the world is happy for you.

6df40380b83f1ebb6bc7024baf29ff53

Life is short. And it is becoming more and more apparent that we don’t know when it might be cruelly snatched away from us. We don’t know what is round the corner. Please, make the most of it. If you’re unhappy make a change. If you’re happy then appreciate every second. Tell those you’re close to you love them, every day; family, friends, children, husbands, wives. Don’t waste a moment. If you want the shoes, buy them. Don’t feel guilty about eating that second Easter egg. Don’t take for granted what you have around you. Make the most of every second. And appreciate that in this horrible time of terror, we can see countries, and most of the world, pulling together in support and solidarity of such awful events. Most people are good, decent, and it really restores your faith when you see the positive in people. We’re all in this together.

FullSizeRender (52)

I hope my lovely readers don’t mind this post and can understand why I felt compelled to write, and especially because I wanted to say to Katie and David how happy I am for them both.

Much love to you all this Easter xx


18 thoughts on “Let Love Win – A Bit Of A Different Post

  1. I can really feel the emotion in your post and I can complete understand why you want to support and show your solidarity through your powerful and meaningful words. The world is a terrifying place, and it scares me to look outside of our own family bubble, but so many people have had someone cruelly snatched from theirs. We do have to cherish the precious people around us. Thanks for sharing your post.

    Dawn x
    #justanotherlinky

    Liked by 1 person

  2. well said. Every once in a while you get a writing itch and have to scratch it. Something affects you and you need to get it out, I understand completely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely post. It’s unfortunate that sometimes it takes a tragedy for us to remember how short and precious life is. I’ll hug my daughter a little tighter today. #TheBabyForumla

    Like

  4. Fabulous post, and I can totally understand why you’d want to break from your usual posts, to address this issue. As parents, I’m sure the state of the planet, and the very real threat of terror, is never far from all of our minds, and it’s certainly something that scares me too, like you, I’ve looked at both children and apologised to them in my head for the fact that I’ve brought them into a world that is very unsafe. I worry for the implications it will have on our future family life-will we ever be able to have the adventures we wanted? Will getting on a plane be too frightening and too much of a threat? Will we be able to travel the world and show it to the children without fear of terror along the way? And of course there’s the terrible sadness I feel for the people who have been directly affected by this abhorrent behaviour. I can see why the lady who got engaged would feel survivors guilt at her ability to now get married, but it’s still a lovely story to come out of something so dark.
    Thanks so much for sharing with #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Aww this is such a sad but beautiful post, I completely get where you’re coming from and I understand why you felt the need to write about it. Its utterly horrendous what is happening in this world today, and there aren’t enough expletives in the world to explain these callous terrorists . I think what they forget, religious or not,uSassy that love always prevails, it always wins it’s an emotion that flows freely and effortlessly hating takes a lot of energy and sucks the life from you. Love will always win. Xxx #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can feel every emotion you felt. What wonderful writing about such a horrible, heartbreaking subject. It completely understand why you wrote this, I contemplated writing something too about the changing world we’re now in.
    I do think you’ve written such a justifiable post, and I hope Katie and David do read this and have the most wonderful wedding and life together. Thanks for sharing #TheBabyFormula

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think it’s good to take a leap out of our comfort zones now & again as bloggers. I’ve done it a few times & had such panic wondering what the comments would be. But I think people appreciate hearing our thoughts on different areas, especially when they are different from our usual. I think you make a lot of great points here about life being short & about being happy every day for what we have. It is awful what happened but we can still celebrate happiness for others. Thanks so much for joining us at #bloggerclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment