The Mummy Tag!

Hi Everyone,

I got a tweet the other day from the lovely Becky over at sparklymummy saying I’d been nominated to do a Mummy Tag post. I love doing these so here goes and big thanks to Becky for the tag!

fc4b9520a59879e67ca48fe795decf6c

1. Are you a stay at home mum or a working mum? 

I’m a stay at home mummy! I know how lucky I am to be able to stay home with Josh and spend every day with him. But I do have other plans; of course my blog is a huge passion, and I am also looking into becoming a Breastfeeding Support Worker. I’ve learnt so much since becoming a Mum about this, often tricky, subject, so I’d love to do something to help other women.

2. Would you have it any other way? 

Simply put, no!!

3. Do you co-sleep? 

I’ve never co-slept with Josh. It’s not something I wanted to do; I guess I am quite strict in that sense. But I always said I wanted our bed to remain ours, and for him to understand he has his own bed. Fortunately that seems to have worked as he has always been fine with going to bed in both his cot and his moses basket. I don’t judge anyone that does it though; often motherhood is all about survival and if it helps you get some sleep just do it!!!

4. What is your one must have item for your baby.

It has been the Tiny Love Napper although this last week I can see he’s really grown out of it! It’s been a godsend and something we’ve kept downstairs. Josh goes in it every morning whilst I have a cuppa and often dozes off for another half hour, giving me a chance to catch up on emails etc! It has lovely little lights, music and vibration. It’s an absolute godsend I wouldn’t have been without it.

5. How many kids do you plan on having? 

I’d like two, so only one more. I think hubs would like an army but quite frankly after the hell that was Joshs labour there is no way I think I can go through that again many more times.  I was so affected by it that when Josh was very young I said there was no way I’d have any more at all! But I don’t want Josh to be an only child, and I’d love to have two as they would be little buddies for each other. I get quite excited when I think about it now; funny how six months changes your perspective on everything!

6. Date night? How often do you have them? 

Pre Josh we had them once a week! Now we either make it a lunch date and just bring him with us, or we wait till Josh has gone to bed and order a takeaway; usually Prezzos, and put on a film and have some time for us! We have our anniversary coming up and have already booked Joshs Granny to baby sit so we can go out and have a meal, and most likely get a bit tipsy on two glasses of wine, which is about as much as we can handle these days! Losers!!

7. Your child’s favourite show 

Josh is only six months old and he’s not watched any childrens TV yet.  I’ll be honest, and please don’t judge me, but I’m putting off as long as possible. I hate kids TV; I can’t bloody stand Peppa Pig (brat) and Dora the Explorer is just terrifying!  The one thing I do notice Josh does love is music; I had on One Big Weekend yesterday and as you can see he was loving a bit of Jake Bugg

DSC_0121
Rocking out to Jake Bugg (excuse the state of my lounge)

8. Name one thing you bought before you had baby and never ended up using? 

I bought some Gro Snugs, which are from the Gro Bag Company and are like a sleeping bag that is also a swaddle. We actually did use them but only for about a week before Josh decided he was over being swaddled! Apart from that I think we’ve used everything we’ve bought.

9. Your child’s favourite food. 

Boob! We’ve only just started weaning (and bloody hell, it’s stressful) so he’s not had much yet. I have noticed he’s really keen on apple and pear though. Today we’ll be trying something far less appealing; Broccoli! Poor child.

10. How many cars does your family own? 

Two. Although hubs is in the process of changing his car from his beloved two seater to something a bit more family friendly!

11. Weight gain before pregnancy, during, after and now.

I was far too thin before falling pregnant, mainly due to stress. I put on three stone whilst pregnant and am now back to 8 stone. I don’t want to lose anymore so am continuing to eat cake by the truckload!

12. Dream holiday with your kids ?

We’ve already opened a savings account for this! We want to go to Lapland at Christmas, meet Father Christmas and play in the snow, and at the same time see the Northern Lights which is something we’ve always wanted to do.

13. Dream holiday without your kids? 

Back to the Maldives please!!!!!! It was absolute heaven, calm, beautiful and peaceful.

maldives

14. How has your life changed since having kids? 

My life has changed massively. I look at things so differently now; don’t sweat the small stuff! I’ve learnt so much about myself and I am proud of how I’ve taken to motherhood. Of course you can’t just nip to the shops now, or have a night in bed drinking tea and watching Made in Chelsea, it’s all about someone else. You’re on call 24/7! But it’s so worth it; when you have a smiley, happy baby you know it’s worth all those changes.

15. Finish the sentence “It makes my heart melt when………” 

Sam and Josh are together; seeing them have a cuddle or Sam making him laugh. It’s so gorgeous and I love seeing them together.

16. Where do you shop for your kids? 

Oh God, too many places! Sainsburys, Next, George at Asda, H and M, Zara, the list goes on!!

17. Favourite makeup and skincare products? 

God, this is a post all in itself! Funnily enough a friend and I had this exact conversation yesterday about our top 5 must have products! I love the new Aldi Facecream, Caviar, I’m hooked! And it’s far more affordable than my other favourite, Clinique Moisture Surge. I couldn’t be without mascara, and I also love the Hoola Bronzer by Benefit. I also love a good body cream, especially ones with a hint of fake tan in; the St Tropez gradual tanner is without a doubt the best.

18. Huggies or Pampers?

Pampers nappies, Huggies wipes!

19. Have you always wanted kids?  

No. When I was 18/19 I wasn’t at all interested in kids. In fact I really couldn’t stand them. In all honesty, I was really quite spoilt as the youngest child, and I think perhaps I thought a child would disrupt my life in a negative way. I am SO glad I grew out of that attitude and my broodiness kicked in, especially once my niece was born! Now I bloody love kids and have even looked into becoming a childminder!

20. Best part of being a mum?

Simply that; being a Mum! I am so grateful because I know so many women struggle to have babies. I feel so lucky when I see Josh every day and he’s smiling at me and I know I have a happy little boy.

13315299_10209317842644060_1969753848976289351_n

So there we have it, my Mummy tag done! And in the spirit of passing this on I am now going to tag the following lovely ladies to have a go at this:

Rach at Our Rach

Emma at Island Living 365

Bridie at Bridie by the Sea

Fran at WhingeWhingeWine

I really hope you enjoyed this post. Have a lovely Sunday xxx

you are my sun


22 thoughts on “The Mummy Tag!

  1. I am all over this as soon as naptime is here 🙂
    We had that rocker napper and it looked great in my red-themed front room. Sadly he hated the thing so it got used for the toddler’s dollies…. but I managed to sell it on for what we paid for it so all was not lost.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still can’t drink much even though mine are now 12, 9 and 6, my body just doesn’t tolerate it anymore. I love date nights at home with takeaway after the kids are in bed! #fartglitter

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love that you have started a savings fund already for a Lapland trip! We also really want to go but haven’t been as organised as you! I hated weaning. We are still in the process and it is my least favourite mummy experience by far. That is probably because I hate cooking though. It is fine if you enjoy making all the food for them. I must learn to enjoy this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I swear by the lil vibrating chair, that allowed me to shower and do so many things! I won’t lie when Bug was a toddler she loved the GummiBear and I let her watch it whenever it calmed her instantly we even bought the darned DVD lol #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do whatever is right for you – a traumatic birth is not something that can just be swept under the carpet. Your child being loved is the main thing, and I know plenty of only children who are wonderful xx #fartglitter

      Like

  5. Poppy loves the TV but mainly just for the colours not kids stuff in particular, she’s just as happy with Good Morning Britain! The Maldives looks amazing. We need the kids to grow up a bit so we can have an amazing kid free holiday #bloggerclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely post. I love tags too, hoping to get nominated for some soon! A lovely way to sum it all up 🙂 I’m glad you’re enjoying time being at home with him, what a blessing. He’s a beautiful little boy. Make the most of it, they grow up so fast. It seems mine was this age only yesterday – he’s four in December!! Scary! Your Christmas plans sound amazing – what a magical experience that will be 🙂 #FartGlitter

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ahhh these posts are really great, it’s so nice to get to know you a bit more. Our date nights are the same, except we don’t have any near by family so our anniversary shall be a typical Monday tomorrow. Thanks so much for linking up to the #DreamTeam

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great post, I feel like I found out so much more about you! I would love to go to Lapland at Christmas and I don’t even have children, I just think it would be so Christmassy 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to #BloggerClubUK 🙂
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

