One to make you smile: 30 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 6

your doing great.jpg

Morning Everyone,

So we are on day 6 of my 30 day blogging challenge and todays question is:

Something you’re proud of in the past few days

I’m going to be incredibly blunt and say the thing I am most proud of is myself and the fact that I haven’t completely lost my shit!

My seemingly perfect baby has turned into a nocturnal demon – damn you 4 month sleep regression. What an absolute bitch. Since Good Friday Josh has taken to waking up around every two hours, sometimes for no reason at all; not even wanting a feed or anything. He has a whinge, I give him a cuddle and he goes back to sleep whilst I lay awake for ages trying to get back to sleep mentally writing lists of all the things I need to remember to do the next day!

There could be many reasons for this; he’s now in his cot, albeit in our room, he’s getting over a chest infection, he’s had his third lot of jabs this week, he’s going through the bitchin’ four month sleep regression, or maybe he’s just come to realise that mummy is fucking awesome and just wants to hang out with her all the time.

darling.jpg

The positive of this insane sleep deprivation is that I am still functioning. When Josh was a newborn and waking this frequently, it was so hard. He didn’t know me, or this world he’d entered, and I didn’t know him and was still trying to figure out what made him happy, what relaxed him, what his cries meant. All the unknown put me completely on edge and he will have picked up on that and I think that’s why it took a couple of weeks for us to get the hang of everything. Doing all that on minimal sleep is hard enough. I was quite blue during that time but I got past it with the help of hubby, my lovely family and the fact that Josh and I just clicked and found our own path.

So now that four months later we are back in that same place with a lack of sleep for reasons I can’t be 100% sure of, it could have been easy to fall back into that “what the hell is going on” panic mode where you’re so tired you cry cause it takes too long for the kettle to boil. But no, I am proud to say, I am owning this shit! I’m tired, I am moaning to my fellow tired yummy mummies, and I look like I need a good week in a spa (I do)! But I’m now confident in what I’m doing, I have complete faith in myself. I am being a great Mum (something Josh agrees with seeing as he spent 20 minutes last night just looking at me and smiling and laughing, most likely at the state of me). And now that I have that faith in myself it enables me to cope. Yes I get ratty some days, the poor husband can’t do right for doing wrong half the time. He tried it on in bed the other night, when I was actually managing to get some sleep, therefore waking me up – he’s lucky he didn’t go to work with a black eye the next day I was so annoyed! But he’s putting up with me and more importantly, telling me how well I’m doing. And now, unlike in those early days, I can believe him. I believe in myself. Josh may not be sleeping too well (repeat after me, the holy parenting mantra to make yourself feel better “it’s just a phase”) but he’s a very happy baby, a very loved baby, and although his mumma is a bit shattered, she’s pretty bloody happy too. And that’s something I’m really proud of.

josh and i lambing.jpg

Come back to read tomorrows challenge:

Plans/dreams/goals you have

Would it be wrong that half of mine involve owning a Mulberry bag and a pug dog…. 😉

Happy Sunday Lovelies xx

30-day1


18 thoughts on “One to make you smile: 30 Day Blogging Challenge – Day 6

  1. Yes! I love this post, it’s so right on. Amazing that you’re taking the positives out of this situations, that’s so inspiring and I hope I can manage to look at the situation the same way if (when!!) we have something similar. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is just a phase…it will pass. We went through the exact thing with our little one and had to introduce sleep training. I love how you are being positive about it, and not losing it. Keep going, it will get easier. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so happy you’re so proud of yourself-you are doing great!
    The 4-months sleep regression is absolutely awful, but it’s a quick one! My son came out the other side a completely different baby-rolling over, babbling more, and his personality really shone more and more.
    These developmental leaps are exhausting, but it’s always so exciting to see what new skills your baby is going to learn during them. I’m proud of you too, mama ❤ #justanotherlinky

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for such a lovely comment, and for giving me some hope. I am really hoping it’s a quick one! And thank you so much for saying you’re proud of me – that means so much you don’t realise xx #justanotherlinky

      Like

  4. The sleep regression is awful! But it does pass. Although I’m currently in a situation where my 2.5 year old will not sleep anywhere other than in my bed, led on my back. I’m knackered. Great post and I’m enjoying your blogging challenge too. #thebabyformula

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve always found it amazing how even with the lack of sleep that it is actually possible to function – ok, we all have our moments, but you get through it when you never thought you would be able to. I love how positive you are about things – you’ll be through it soon I’m sure. The 4 month regression was the first big one for us, but it was a relatively short one, and I’m sure you’ll have your good sleeping baby back soon. #bloggerclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Definitely something to be proud of – well done for having that faith in yourself and glad to hear that Josh is a very happy baby – you’re definitely doing something right! No sleep is awful but it will pass eventually and hopefully sooner rather than later. #coolmumclub

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sounds like you’re doing an amazing job! Sleep regression is the absoute worst. Just when you think you’ve got everything nailed and are starting to enjoy some sense of reality, everything gets turned upside down again. Hopefully it wont last long. Whenever I’ve looked back on these things theyve felt so much longer than they actually were, so hang in there, hopefully its almost over. Either way, it sounds like you’ve got this 😉 Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays. Emily

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I had so forgotten all about the 4 month sleep regression! It was painful with Monkey as we had got use to him sleeping and therefore us sleeping. I hope it gets better for you soon. Well done for keeping it all together 🙂 thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope to see you again this week x

    Like

  9. Oh dear, I so remember this. My sleep through the night baby turned into a wake up in the night baby and we didn’t have a clue what to do about it. It was a long phase…. but like you say, I kept saying it’s a phase, and eventually it was! Enjoy your smiley boy 🙂
    Thanks for sharing #thebabyformula

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

